Admission by Motion
ADMISSION BY MOTION UNDER MAINE BAR ADMISSION RULE 11A:
- To Receive a Preliminary Determination of Eligibility For Admission by Motion
- Regulations for Expiration of Admission by Motion Applications
PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE IS A $250 FEE FOR A PRELIMINARY DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY, EFFECTIVE JULY 7, 2017, WHICH FEE IS CREDITED TOWARDS THE APPLICATION FEE IF YOU ARE FOUND ELIGIBLE. PAYMENT MAY BE MADE BY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY, VIA REGULAR MAIL.
All applicants are responsible for reading and complying with the Maine Bar Admission Rules. Most questions can be answered by a careful reading of the Rules. General information is available on the Maine Board of Bar Examiners Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) page. Applicants who graduated from a law school not located in the United States should first review the Regulations for Determining Equivalency of Foreign Legal Education
Before applicants can be certified for admission by motion pursuant to M.B.A.R. 11A, they must:
- Produce satisfactory evidence of good character and fitness to practice law in the State of Maine pursuant to M.B.A.R. 9 [see M.B.A.R. 11A(a)(7)].
- Produce evidence that they have completed at least fifteen (15) hours of continuing legal education in Maine practice and procedure in courses approved by the Maine Board of Overseers of the Bar. Please note that this requirement must be completed within one year from the date of application. [See M.B.A.R. 11A(a)(8)].
If you have questions regarding the required 15 hours of continuing legal education in Maine Practice and procedure, please contact the Board’s CLE/Registration Coordinator at 207-623-1121.